Behind Every Word

by Steve Lawson

supported by
  • Immediate download of 11-track album in your choice of 320k mp3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire, for as little as zilch or as much as you currently have in the bank. Somewhere between the two seems wise, but please, if you're unsure, download it for free, and give it a few listens before deciding. If you want to pay later, that's fine too. Or not. Just consider it an early christmas present :)

    Alternatively, you can buy any of the individual tracks for 50p.

    Which seems a bit weird given that you can have the album for whatever you want to pay for it...

     name your price


  • Compact Disc (CD)

    Like all the albums I've released on my imaginary record label, Pillow Mountain Records, Behind Every Word is beautifully packaged in high-gloss, triple-gatefold, no-nasty-plastic, looks-like-a-tiny-vinyl-album sleeve. With lots of good words to read. :)

    Ordering this also includes immediate download of 11 track album in your choice of 320k mp3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire.
    ships out within 14 days

     £6 GBP or more


  • [SPECIAL - pay £30 or more and get the download codes for FingerPainting: Complete - 10 more albums!]


    In MP3 format, you get the following albums:

    My Solo Albums:

    1 :: And Nothing But The Bass: Live At The Troubadour (2000)
    2 :: Not Dancing For Chicken (2002)
    3 :: Lessons Learned From An Aged Feline Pt 1 (2002)
    4 :: Grace And Gratitude (2004)
    5 :: Lessons Learned From An Aged Feline Pt 2 (2004)
    6 :: Behind Every Word (2006)
    7 :: Lessons Learned From The Fairly Aged Felines (2006)
    8 :: Ten Years On: Live In London (2010)
    9 :: 11 Reasons Why 3 Is Greater Than Everything (2011)
    10 :: Believe In Peace (2012)
    11 :: What The Mind Thinks, The Heart Transmits (2014)

    Steve and Lobelia Albums:

    12 :: Live In Nebraska (2008)
    13 :: Live So Far (2010)

    Other Collaborations:

    14 :: Conversations (Steve Lawson and Jez Carr) 2002
    15 :: For The Love Of Open Spaces (Steve Lawson and Theo Travis) 2003
    16/17 :: Live in Cambridge (Steve & Theo, previously unreleased, double length official bootleg) 2005
    18 :: Numbers (Lawson/Dodds/Wood) 2008
    19 :: Slow Food (Steve Lawson and Trip Wamsley) 2010
    20 :: Infrablab (Trip Wamsley and Steve Lawson) 2010
    21 :: Hidden Windows(Steve Lawson and Neil Alexander) 2012
    22 :: Invenzioni (Steve Lawson and Mike Outram 2012
    23 :: Nothing Can Prepare (Steve Lawson and Andy Williamson) 2012
    24 :: The FingerPainting Sessions Vol 1 (Steve Lawson and Daniel Berkman) 2013
    25 :: The FingerPainting Sessions Vol 2 (Steve Lawson and Daniel Berkman) 2013
    26 :: Diversion (Steve Lawson and Jon Thorne) 2014
    27 :: Marinate (Steve Lawson and Julie Slick) 2014
    28 :: Ley Lines (Phi Yaan-Zek, Steve Lawson, Andy Edwards) 2015


    :: Steve Live in Belgium (45 minutes - MP4)


    :: "Rock And Roll Is Dead" = Steve's novel.

    Includes unlimited streaming of What The Mind Thinks, The Heart Transmits via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ... more
    ships out within 14 days

     £25 GBP or more




released in 2006, Behind Every Word is my most recent solo album. It features two amazing special guests - BJ Cole plays pedal steel guitar on Scott Peck, and Julie McKee sings on One Step. I'm rather proud of it, and hope you enjoy it too!


released 06 January 2006

Steve Lawson - bass/loops/compositions
BJ Cole - Pedal Steel Guitar on Scott Peck
Julie McKee - vocals on One Step

Co-produced by Steve Lawson and Sue Edwards -




feeds for this album, this artist


Steve Lawson UK

The UK's most celebrated solo bassist, here with lots of looped/layered solo albums, & collaborations, most notably with genius singer Lobelia. Dig in deep, there's a lot to discover.

Pretty much all the music here is 'Pay What You Think It's Worth', so listen as much as you like, & do what it says on the tin...

As the website strap-line goes, it's the soundtrack to the day you wish you'd had.
... more

contact / help

Contact Steve Lawson

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Track Name: Blue Planet
originally conceived as an homage to Ry Cooder's haunting 'Paris, Texas' soundtrack, it ended up sounding a little more expansive than the claustrophibic heat conjured up in Cooder's epic work, so the title was taken from the David Attenborough series of the same name, with it's glorious vision of the moist parts of the planet.