Believe In Peace

by Steve Lawson

  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    The FLAC/ALAC versions are 24Bit - higher than CD quality.
    I'm going to donate 1/3rd of all the money I make on this to Reprieve - - so the more you pay, the more they get. I'd love to be able to donate £3 per album, but it's up to you. Pay what you think the album and cause is worth to you...
    Purchasable with gift card

      £2 GBP  or more

    You own this


  • Full Digital Discography Full Digital Discography

    Get all 51 Steve Lawson releases available on Bandcamp and save 70%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of No Through Route, The Root Of It All, Hindsight, (dis)order, Half Life, the aesthetics of care, Better Living Through Technology, The Best Of Steve Lawson Pt 1 (Solo, 2000-2013), and 43 more. , and , .

    Excludes subscriber-only releases.

    Purchasable with gift card

      £27.15 GBP or more (70% OFF)

    You own this


  • Steve Lawson: Complete Works - 32 albums on USB Stick (new design!)
    USB Flash Drive + Digital Album

    BRAND NEW LIMITED EDITION "TINY VINYL" DESIGN - complete with turntable arm! ;)

    In MP3 format, you get the following albums:

    My Solo Albums:

    1 :: And Nothing But The Bass: Live At The Troubadour (2000)
    2 :: Not Dancing For Chicken (2002)
    3 :: Grace And Gratitude (2004)
    4 :: Behind Every Word (2006)
    5 :: Ten Years On: Live In London (2010)
    6 :: 11 Reasons Why 3 Is Greater Than Everything (2011)
    7 :: Believe In Peace (2012)
    8 :: What The Mind Thinks, The Heart Transmits (2014)
    9 :: A Crack Where The Light Gets In (2015)
    10 :: The Way Home (2015)
    11 :: The Surrender Of Time (2016)
    12 :: Towards A Better Question (2017)
    13 :: PS, You Are Brilliant (2017)

    Steve and Lobelia Albums:

    14 :: Live In Nebraska (2008)
    15 :: Live So Far (2010)

    Other Collaborations:

    16 :: Conversations (Steve Lawson and Jez Carr) 2002
    17 :: For The Love Of Open Spaces (Steve Lawson and Theo Travis) 2003
    18 :: Numbers (Lawson/Dodds/Wood) 2008
    19 :: Slow Food (Steve Lawson and Trip Wamsley) 2010
    20 :: Infrablab (Trip Wamsley and Steve Lawson) 2010
    21 :: Hidden Windows(Steve Lawson and Neil Alexander) 2012
    22 :: Invenzioni (Steve Lawson and Mike Outram 2012
    23 :: Nothing Can Prepare (Steve Lawson and Andy Williamson) 2012
    24 :: The FingerPainting Sessions Vol 1 (Steve Lawson and Daniel Berkman) 2013
    25 :: The FingerPainting Sessions Vol 2 (Steve Lawson and Daniel Berkman) 2013
    26 :: Diversion (Steve Lawson and Jon Thorne) 2014
    27 :: Marinate (Steve Lawson and Julie Slick) 2014
    38 :: Ley Lines (Phi Yaan-Zek, Steve Lawson, Andy Edwards) 2015
    29 :: Language Is A Music (Steve Lawson & Michael Manring) 2016
    30 :: Ley Lines II (Phi Yaan-Zek, Steve Lawson, Andy Edwards) 2017
    31 :: Over Time (Steve Lawson & Andy Edwards) 2017
    32 :: Intersect (Steve Lawson & Pete Fraser) 2017


    :: Steve Live in Belgium (45 minutes - MP4)


    :: "Rock And Roll Is Dead" = Steve's novel.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Believe In Peace via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ... more

    Sold Out

North Ch′ien The Creative – Hexagram 1 Creative begins Everything follows Care not for fools and critics (poem by Geoff Bush)
South Shih Ho Biting Through – Hexagram 21 Biting through The thoughts of others Discover the hidden Creative (poem by Geoff Bush)
Grace (Pi) 13:08
West Pi Grace – Hexagram 22 Beyond your daily struggle Find tranquility within This world is art (poem by Geoff Bush)
East Chung Fu Inner Truth – Hexagram 61 Empty, empty again Create the opening You will see your future (poem by Geoff Bush)


Music Born Of Serendipity:

This album came about via one of those unplannable serendipitous internet chains of events that you look back on and wonder if someone had planned them after all...

Lobelia and I had two house concerts booked in the Milwaukee and Madison, WI. Jason Bush - a musician from Minneapolis who had found us on Twitter, was considering the long drive down to Madison to see us play. However, this was right in the middle of the Union struggles in Madison, and our host was very involved, and quite rightly chose to focus on that rather than our show. So we had a free night. Jason putting his entrepreneurial hat on, invites us to play at an art exhibition of work by his dad, Geoff Bush. There’s an open studio weekend (Art-A-Whirl) and Geoff was exhibiting. We chatted on the phone, liked the sound of each other and booked it.

Intending to play a ‘normal’ Steve and Lo house concert-type set, I found on first seeing Geoff’s art that I was moved to want to react to it musically in some way. His art is all based on the I Ching - the ancient Chinese book of wisdom, used by some for divination, but by others just as a source of deep inspiration. Geoff’s work featured the various hexagram symbols heavily, contextualising them in mixed media works. My favourite was a granite carved cube, with one of four hexagrams on each vertical face. These are where the four track titles come from.

So Lobelia and I split our set in two. The first half, me solo, is what you hear here. A series of four improvisations, played while those in attendance were encouraged to continue walking around looking at the art, seeing how the soundtrack and the visual work interacted, informed or complimented each other. We then did a more typical duo show in the second half.

I feel a great affinity for Geoff’s work - his focus on the iconography of the I Ching Hexagrams roots his work in wisdom, in words, in ideas, in a quest for deeper inspiration and meaning. And his overall theme is also the title of this album: Believe In Peace. Geoff’s quest for peace has caused him to explore the themes as expressed in the I Ching, and I feel enriched by his journey and art. I hope some of that comes across in the music.


released January 2, 2012

played, recorded, mixed and mastered by Steve Lawson
Inspired by the art of Geoff Bush :

Cover art by Jason Bush -

All played on a Modulus 6 string fretless bass, through a Lexicon MPX-G2, Looperlative LP1, Korg Kaoss Pad KP3, MOTU Ultralite Mk III, recorded, mixed and mastered in Reaper.

Big thanks to

Geoff Bush for the art
Jason Bush for the connection
Lobelia for being amazing and making all the music possible.
Nancy for taking care of Flapjack on the road.




Steve Lawson UK

The UK's most celebrated and prolific solo bassist - alternating between solo and collaborative releases - have a rummage around and see what you find. The subscription is by FAR the best way to keep track of the many musical goings on!

contact / help

Contact Steve Lawson

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account